Home > Uncategorized > Food Feast during Chinese New Year

Food Feast during Chinese New Year

Here are some of the resto we visited during the Chinese New Year holidays.
There are a lot of good food here, and sometimes, it’s a bit hard to choose! 
I guess now I know why I gained almost 2kgs in span of less than 30 days.
Melchor also gained a lot of weight! Some people here are saying that he looked big after the CNY! hahaha!

Melchor and I are not that picky with food. And with my sudden cravings, I’m thankful that Melchor can keep up with my preferences.
Since I lost my cellphone last 13 February, we opted to go to Xujiahui area the next day.
Aside from looking for a new cellphone I can buy, I also need to buy some maternity clothes.
One of our favorite malls here in Shanghai is the Grand Gateway Mall.
If you’ve been to Xujiahui, you will be amazed with how busy and crowded that area, with a lot of malls actually.
And there’s a nearby computer/gadgets area (百脑汇), and Best Buy (百思买) store.
I like Grand Gateway Mall, because there’s an extended area there at the 3rd or 4th floor (I think!) all for kids!!!
I do like the hiking pants I got from our Decathlon (sporting and outdoors shop) here, but to be honest, I can’t close the button na!
So I got 2 maternity pants and 1 maternity jeans from Oct Mami. I just tried couple of jeans, and with Melchor’s approval, they look good on me!
The prices are not cheap! But then, I can’t wear anything na! Melchor kept on reminding me that I needed them na.. so fine fine, I got 3 pcs.

Before shopping, since we had our breakfast at Puli Hotel and Spa, our lunch was around 12:30pm already.
We chose – South Memory Hunan Restaurant. It was located at 5th floor of the Grand Gateway Mall.
Here were the dishes we had at the said resto:

Photobucket
Clockwise from top left: Seaweeds (I was advised to eat this while preggy), Fish head with chilis, Peanuts and Radish (I think) and Stir fried Beef in Chilis.
 
 
 

I think my mom will react wildly that I saw the red chilis in 2 of the main dish! hahaha! But I think the more that I was told not to eat spicy food, the more I crave for them! Also, Melchor had some tricks on his own, on how to lessen the spiciness of the food. We did that and enjoyed tremendously with our food! 🙂 I love the Fish head! It’s so savory!! Of course we removed all the chilis! hahaha! I just had 1 cup of rice, Melchor had 2! hahaha!

We shopped a little. Then, went to look for my next cellphone. But I’m still undecided what model and brand to get. I have to think and research more about this. 

For our dinner, we went to the nearby Novel Place, near the Best buy store, to have our dinner.
We chose – Applebee’s! Hahahaha! And we had:

Photobucket
Top right clockwise: Appetizer platter, Chicken Smothered, and Half-back Ribs!
The ribs are delicious and the onion rings are really good!!! Just a simple dinner for the tiring day! haha!

The next day, we need to go to the China Mobile office, to re-issue my China simcard, and had a very late Thai lunch at Citic Square along Nanjing Xi Lu. We had the following:

 

Photobucket
Clockwise from top right: Chicken Yellow Curry, Sizzling seafoods, Thai sping rolls and of course, Tom Yum Soup!
Melchor had 2 cups of rice, I only had 1. 🙂
I still have to compile the Spanish lunch we had. Let’s see if I can post them next time.

My favorite Sichuan resto here is Hei San Niang (黑三娘). I think I can eat in this resto every week! hahaha

We also visited this resto during the last part of our CNY holidays and had the following:
Photobucket
Clockwise from top left: Pork in Chili Water broth, Stir Fried Beef, Cabbage veggies and Sichuan Dumplings.
I particularly love the Pork in Chili Water Broth!! I can’t get enough of this!! And was itching to order a take out, but Melchor doesn’t want me to eat too much spicy food! hay!!

Oh, I forgot to blog, our friend, Marie visited Shanghai during the last week of January, and we ate at Lost Heaven Yunnan Folk Cuisine.
This is one of our favorite resto also.. (I have a very long list of favorite restaurants here! hahaha!)

Photobucket
from Top left clockwise: Cod Fish, Spring Roll in Beancurd, Clams in some herbs, and Chicken in some herbs also! 
Marie’s sporting long hair na!! It was great to see you here Marie! Balik ka ulit!
 

So that ends my post for the day.
Seeing all the food we had, makes me hungry now! hahaha!
Ok. I have to stop thinking about food, eating..
I need to start researching on what to buy for first time mom like me!
I’m not sure where to start!!!!!!!!!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment